Retosa Corporate

The Rainforests of the Atsinanana is a World Heritage Site inscribed in 2007 and comprises six national parks in the eastern part of Madagascar: Marojejy National Park, Masoala National Park, Zahamena National Park, Ranomafana National Park, Andringitra National Park and Andohahela National Park.

These relict forests are critically important for maintaining ongoing ecological processes necessary for the survival of Madagascar’s unique biodiversity, which reflects the island’s geological history.

The rainforests are inscribed for their importance to both ecological and biological processes, as well as their biodiversity and the threatened species they support. Many species are rare and threatened, especially lemurs and other primates.