Retosa Corporate

PRESS RELEASE - RETOSA wins 2nd Japan Tourism Award (18 Aug 2016)


Regional Tourism Organisation of Southern Africa (RETOSA) - Midrand

18 August 2016

RETOSA wins the 2nd Japan Tourism Award

The Regional Tourism Organization of Southern Africa (RETOSA) is a Southern African Development Community (SADC) institution responsible for tourism growth and development. In part, the aims of RETOSA are to increase tourist arrivals to the region through sustainable development initiatives, improved regional competitiveness, and effective destination marketing. In its efforts to promote the region RETOSA has collaborated with Japan Association of Travel Agents whereby the organisation organises familiarisation tours for coyote journalists around the region. In recognition of the job well done by RETOSA the organisation won the 2nd Japan Tourism Award.

These awards recognize those who contribute to the development and expansion of the tourism industry, adding synergistic effects to the “JATA Tourism EXPO Japan,” while also giving recognition to exceptionally sustainable initiatives by associations, organizations, and companies in Japan and overseas. In addition, these awards utilize this event as an opportunity to pursue the goal of spreading the word and educating others about the efforts to make “Tourist Destination: Japan” a reality both domestically and internationally

The award ceremony will be on the 22nd of September 2016 after the opening ceremony of Tourism Expo Japan in Tokyo.


Note to the Journalist:

For more information by email at or call +27 (11) 315 24 20.

You may subscribe to our newsletter on RETOSA News or follow us on our social media pages:

FacebookTwitter, LinkedIn


The Regional Tourism Organisation for Southern Africa (RETOSA) is the tourism implementing agency for the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC). Its primary objective is to facilitate and promote tourism growth and development in Southern Africa. RETOSA’s member states are Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe